A POTENTIALly dangerous blog post

I was talking to my friend and I came across a revelation.

We were discussing our future and how it would play out. The hopes, dreams, and ambitions all factored into it, but so did all of the fears, worries, and self-doubt. I can’t imagine that my future will be an easy one to approach, but I do understand that it finally has to be faced.

And it can’t be confronted with negative thoughts in mind. It has to be approached with a skip in my step. With positive thoughts shining like rays of sunshine in my mind. With the spotlight directed right on me. Because guess what? In this moment, I am the star of my own future.

I need to learn to own it. And so do millions of other kids out there.

Now more than ever.

 

I told my friend who was feeling doubtful about a recent adventure he dived into. He was scared that he possibly belly-flopped instead. Metaphorically of course.

When I started praising him on his hard work and effort, he felt encouraged, but I could sense hesitation over our texts. I told him that I was excited for all the amazing, bright things he would come up with and do in the future and he said he hoped so too.

For some reason, I found this a less than adequate response and I told him that I didn’t hope for him because I knew it would happen.

He asked me what I would think if it didn’t happen. If he didn’t make it once in the real world. If he couldn’t create the lasting imprint on the world that he had wished for his entire life. All the negative thoughts flooding in, contaminating the water that he had so bravely dived into on his most recent adventure.

What I told him next hit me harder than I think it did him.

I simply stated that it would mean that he didn’t live up his potential, or didn’t have the will to.

Yes, I know it doesn’t seem as monumental just looking at it, but it made me realize something really important.

I may have people rooting for me and cheering me on, but in the end, it’s about me and how bad I want something. In life we get so little time, so I plan to use all of mine devoted to building myself rather than anything else. I want to see myself fulfilling my potential. My destiny! I want to see myself succeed.  I’m the only person who can bring myself there.

And you are the only person who can bring yourself there.

So, stop whatever you’re doing, go and find the closest mirror.

Point a finger at yourself and tell yourself, “I’m going to live up to my potential! ”

Because I know you can. Not hope… I know.

Leave a comment